Built in 1750 this structure was originally a Georgian tenement house. It was one of four that shared identical floor plans. Three are still standing. Just after the civil war, Captain Bertram Kramer, a Confederate blockade runner, purchased the house and did a complete Victorian renovation that included adding the fourth floor and mansard roof with its unique cupola, the bay windows on every floor and the triple sash “walk thru” windows to a second floor balcony and the roof garden. Kramer also united the kitchen house to the main house. Little else has changed since that late 19th century renovation.